About the Project
Recent & Upcoming Project Activities
Publications, Minutes & Reports
Links & Contacts
Project Home










Collaborating Institutions - Links

This project is a collaboration between land managers, scientists and educators in Indonesia and northern Australia. It is funded by the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR).

In Australia, the major collaborating organisations are:

Northern Territory University (NTU, Darwin)
Bushfires Council of the Northern Territory (BFCNT, Darwin)
Cooperative Research Centre for Tropical Savanna Management (CRCTSM)

In Indonesia, the major collaborating organisations are:

Wira Wacana Christian School of Economics, Sumba, NTT
Provincial Development Planning Board for East Nusa Tenggara (BAPPEDA, NTT)
Centre for International Forestry Research (CIFOR, Bogor)

The project is a Large Bilateral Project (with an International Agricultural Research Institute (IARC) Multilateral Component) within the Forestry program area of Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR), running for 3 years from 1 July 2002. ACIAR Project Number: FST/2000/001

Click here for a list of other landscape fire related web sites.

General enquiries:

Bronwyn Myers (project coordinator)
NTU, Building 42
Darwin 0909,
Tel: +61 8 8946 6726
Fax: +61 8 8946 6847

Dr. Jeremy Russell-Smith
Bushfires Council of the Northern Territory
(Tropical Savannas Management Cooperative Research Centre)
PO Box 37346
Winnellie NT 0821
Tel: +61 8 8922 0844
Fax: +61 8 8947 2263

Prof. Greg Hill
Univ Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore Qld 4558
Tel: +61 7 5459 4465

Dr. Siliwoloe Djoeroemana (Indonesian Project Leader)
Jalan Prof Dr W Z Yohanes 12A
Waingapu 87113, NTT,
Tel: +62 387 62337
Fax: +62 387 62644


Ir Esthon L Foenay
Head of Provincial Development Planning Board
for East Nusa Tenggara (BAPPEDA NTT)
Ketua Bappeda Tk. I NTT
Jl Polisi Militer No 2
Kupang NTT
Tel: +62 380 831712/833462
Fax: +62 380 821310/83366

Team members


Dr. Jeremy Russell-Smith (CRC Tropical Savannas Management, Bushfires Council Northern Territory)
Dr. Bronwyn Myers (project coordinator, NTU)
Mr. Rohan Fisher (GIS officer, NTU)
Mr. Brent Williams (Bushfires Council of the NT)
Dr. Penny Wurm (CRC Tropical Savannas Management)
Ms. Tania Paul (NTU)

Eastern Indonesia

Prof. Haryono Semangun (Gadja Mada University)
Dr. Siliwoloe Djoeroemana (Eastern Indonesian Project Leader, Kristen Wira Wacana University)
Esthon L Foenay, Coordinator for NTT, (Head of BAPPEDA, Kupang)
Umbu Tamu Kalaway, (BAPPEDA, Sumba)
Petrus Kesu, (BAPPEDA, Flores)
Victor Soleman Lawa Lulu, Project Leader Assistant NTT
Petrus Pandanga, Project officer, East Sumba
Paulina Hada Ndima, Project officer, East Sumba
John Umbu Nggaba, Project officer,assistant, East Sumba
Agus Rawambaku, GIS Officer, East Sumba
Josef Maan, Project Officer, Ngada
Samuel Awang, Project Officer Assistant, Ngada
Fransiska Rengo, Project Officer Assistant, Ngada
Wilfrida Erlinda Bobanuba, GIS Officer, Ngada
Haryono Semangun, Researcher
Dr Daniel Kameo, Researcher
Johanis Ngongo (BTPB) or bptpnaibonat@yahoo.com
Mr. Wayan Mudita (Nusa Cendana University)


Unna Chokkalingum
Iwan Kurniawan

Authorised by: Project Team | Last Updated: March, 2003
Copyright and Disclaimer notice | © Northern Territory University 2002 | CRICOS Provider No: 00300K